About Us


Paines Plough is the UK’s national theatre of new plays. We commission and produce the best playwrights and tour their plays far and wide. Whether you’re in Liverpool or Lyme Regis, Scarborough or Southampton, a Paines Plough show is coming to a theatre near you soon.

"The lifeblood of the UK’s theatre ecosystem" The Guardian

Paines Plough was formed in 1974 over a pint of Paines bitter in the Plough pub. Since then we’ve produced more than 130 new productions by world renowned playwrights like Stephen Jeffreys, Abi Morgan, Sarah Kane, Mark Ravenhill, Dennis Kelly and Mike Bartlett. We’ve toured those plays to hundreds of places from Manchester to Moscow to Maidenhead.

"That noble company Paines Plough, de facto national theatre of new writing" The Daily Telegraph

We celebrated 40 years of Paines Plough in 2014 with our biggest, boldest, furthest-reaching programme of work ever. Programme 2014 saw 12 productions touring to 54 places around the UK, featuring the work of 104 playwrights.

"I think some theatre just saved my life" @kate_clement on Twitter

Paines Plough Limited is a company limited by guarantee and a registered charity.
Registered Company no: 1165130
Registered Charity no: 267523

Founder John Adams handed the Artistic Directorship to John Chapman in 1982. Pip Broughton succeeded in 1985, followed by Anna Furse (1990), Penny Ciniewicz (1994), Vicky Featherstone (1997) and Roxana Silbert (2005). The current Artistic Directors James Grieve and George Perrin took up post on 1 February 2010.

What's next?

Check out our Current Programme...